Wednesday, December 2, 2015

How to Get Your Home Ready for a Cozy Winter



Winter is coming. Thankfully, there are ways to shelter yourself from the cold and the harsh elements of this long season. Check out the tips below to get your home prepped and primed for a winter that will be cozy and comfortable, regardless of how frightful the weather outside becomes.

Prepare and Repair Your Windows
If your windows have any cracks, they will be letting in cold air and making your house feel less than cozy. Therefore, take the time to check every one of your windows. Caulk any holes or gaps that you find so you can boost the energy efficiency of your home while preventing cold air from getting in, and swap out your window treatments for heavy curtains.

Prep Your Fireplace
Clean out your chimney and your fireplace so that you can use it throughout the winter to burn a fire and keep warm naturally while lowering the thermostat and saving on your energy bill. After all, what could be cozier than snuggling up with a warm cup of tea or hot chocolate in front of a fire? But, if you’re in a cold place like Connecticut, make sure you have enough firewood to get you through the season!

Inspect Your Furnace
Before the winter season hits in full-force, give your furnace a thorough inspection in order to be certain it is totally clean. If sediment builds up, it can create a fire hazard and cause the furnace to work less efficiently, so simply cleaning it and inspecting it will greatly reduce these risks and hazards.

Also, throughout the winter season, it is a good idea to change out the filter on a regular basis because a dirty filter could decrease the unit's energy efficiency and reduce airflow as well.

Finally, if you think that it is time to replace the furnace, opt for a model that is certified as energy efficient so that you can save money on your bill every month while remaining cozy throughout every room in your home.

Change Your Bedding
Changing out your bedding for warmer alternatives will also ensure that you are able to snuggle up
every night to a warm and cozy bed. Opt for thicker flannel sheets and a thicker comforter, too. You can even layer on the blankets so that you can stay warm while you sleep without having to break the bank by raising the thermostat and your energy bill.

Consider Candles
Provided that you have safe places throughout your home to set some candles to burn, you can take advantage of them to create a little bit of extra warmth and a warm, cozy glow throughout the winter. For your health and the health of your pets, opt for candles made of soy wax and natural wicks.

As the winter season approaches, make sure you follow the above tips to ensure your home will be ready for whatever Mother Nature throws your way. If you can prepare the right way, you can remain safe, warm, and cozy inside and save money on your energy bill at the same time.

16 comments:

  1. Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletfactory-stores.us.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface-outlets.com.co

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardypopsale.com

    Coach Outlet Store Online http://www.coachstoreonline.in.net

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletstore.in.net

    Cheap Jordans http://www.cheapjordansretro.us.com

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurses.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutlet2016.us.com

    Tory Burch Shoes http://www.toryburchoutlets.us.com

    Longchamp Outlet http://www.longchampoutlet.in.net

    Michael Kors Handbags http://www.innnov8.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.innnovate.com

    Red Bottom Shoes http://www.redbottomshoes.us.org

    Moncler Jackets http://www.monclerdownjackets.us.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.in.net

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletstore.us.com

    Moncler Outlet http://www.moncleroutletonline.in.net

    Coach Factory http://www.maganates.com

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactorysoutlet.in.net

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadesoutlet.us.com

    Ray Ban Outlet http://www.raybanoutletstore.in.net

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoes2016.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlets.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachoutletstore.name

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletonline.name

    Coach Outlet http://www.coach-outlets.us.org

    Nike Roshe Run http://www.tanie-nikerosherun.pl

    Buty Nike Air Max http://www.airmaxsprzedazdla.pl

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeairmax.us.org

    Red Bottom Shoes http://www.redbottomshoe.in.net

    Christian Louboutin Outlet http://www.christianlouboutinoutlet.us.org

    Balenciaga Handbags http://www.balenciagaoutlets.us.com

    Balenciaga Handbags http://www.balenciaga-handbags.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.in.net

    Toms Shoes http://www.tomshoesoutlet.us.com

    Hermes Belt http://www.hermes-belts.us.com

    Prada Outlet http://www.pradafactoryoutlet.com

    Louis Vuitton Outlet http://www.louisvuittonsoutlet.us.com

    North Face Outlet Store http://www.northfaceoutletstore.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.north-face.in.net

    North Face http://www.north-faceoutlets.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Outlet http://www.louisvuitton-outlets.us.org

    Timberland Boots http://www.timberland-outlets.us.com

    Cheap Timberland Boots http://www.timberlandoutlet.us.com

    Tory Burch Outlet http://www.toryburch-outlets.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlaurenstoreoutlet.us.com

    Gucci Shoes http://www.guccifactoryoutlet.name

    Gucci Outlet http://www.guccioutletco.us.com

    North Face Jackets http://www.northfacefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Prada Outlet http://www.pradaoutlets.in.net

    Hollister Clothing http://www.hollister-clothing.us.com

    Ferragamo Shoes http://www.ferragamoshoes.us.org

    Tiffany Outlet http://www.tiffany-outlets.us.com

    Tiffany Outlet http://www.tiffanyco-outlet.us.com

    NFL Jerseys http://www.nfljerseys.name

    Toms Outlet http://www.outlettoms.us.com

    Cheap Jordans http://www.cheapjordans.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.thenorthfaceoutlet.us.org

    Prada Handbags http://www.pradaoutlet.us.org

    Chan Luu Sale http://www.chanluu.us.com

    Toms Outlet http://www.tomsoutletstores.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletofficial.us.com

    Beats By Dr Dre http://www.beatsbydrdre.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    ReplyDelete