Wednesday, December 31, 2014

/// my word of the year


Learning to say "no" is quite the challenge.  For me, I supposed this inability to say that little word comes from some sort of pride...to think someone needs me.  If I don't come through no one will.  And besides, no one will do it as well.  

How egocentric is that?!

Reality is much different than the thoughts that run through my mind.

In reality, I'm just one person.
In reality, many people can do what I do just as well.
In reality, life should not be about hopping from one task to the other.
In reality, life should not be about doing everything for everybody else and wasting the calling God has on my life because I'm too tired or too spent.

In reality, "no" is not a dirty word.  (It doesn't even have four letters.)  "No" is just a word.  It brings balance into our lives.  It brings rest to our minds.  It frees other people to do what they're called to do.

I think my pastor, Mike Buie, said it best.  "Sometimes we have to say 'no' to good opportunities so we can say 'yes' to God opportunities."

Truthfully, for me, this is very difficult.  I want to change the world so much more than I have and experience so much more of life than I have and be so much more than I am, but reality has to rule here.  If I'm so busy with good opportunities, more than likely I'm going to miss the God opportunities that are passing right in front of my eyes.

Leonard Ravenhill once said, "The opportunity of a lifetime must be seized in the lifetime of that opportunity."  That's the thing...opportunities will pass right in front of our eyes.  They can slip through our fingers.  We can run right past them with every intention to return.  But when they are gone, they're gone.

In the past, I've missed opportunities.  I've missed some because I was scared to jump.  I've missed some because I was trying to be submissive.  I've missed some because I was just flat out lazy.  I've missed some--many--because I was too busy to recognize those opportunities as defining moments.

I've written about this truth before, but let me just remind you of Paul's words in a few of his epistles.

Ephesians 5:15, 16
Look carefully then how you walk, not as unwise but as wise, making the most of every opportunity, because the days are evil.

Make the best use of your time.  Make the best use of your God opportunities.  Say "no" to good opportunities so you can say "yes" to God opportunities.

This next year, 2015,  I'm not making a resolution.  I'm working to adopt a word.  Purge.  Purge the things in my life that clutter my attention.  Purge things that distract me from God's purpose for my life.  Purge so I can make the most of every opportunity.

11 comments:

  1. Replies
    1. I haven't yet, but it's on my to read list.

      Delete
  2. Replies
    1. Thank you and thank you for sharing on twitter.

      Delete
  3. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.tomoutlet.us.com

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete